Skip to content

Meet Isabel, UBC CFE Student!

July 20, 2016

This year at Growing Chefs! we were so lucky to be joined by amazing teacher candidates from UBC’s Faculty of Education as part of their Community Field Experience program.  For 3 weeks, these students join us in the classroom and in our office to help us coordinate, deliver, and improve our classroom gardening and cooking program. We are pleased to introduce student teacher, Isabel Trzcinski, below!

 
IMG_0140Hi, my name is Isabel Trzcinski. I’m a student at the University of British Columbia currently working towards my Bachelor of Education to become an elementary school teacher.

I joined Growing Chefs! as part of my community practicum experience. Right when I read what Growing Chefs! was about, I knew I wanted to spend my practicum with them. Over the last few years, I have devoted myself to health and nutrition. A few years ago I made a commitment to eat only raw food. This was such a powerful experience for my health, and I’ve learned healthy habits that will last me a lifetime. I started a raw vegan Youtube channel called Bela Rawfood, and an Instagram account called @bela_plantfood where I have the opportunity to share raw vegan recipes that I’ve created.

 

FullSizeRender (3)My family and I also take a lot of pride in our garden. Every year we enjoy growing tomatoes, zucchini, cucumber, kale, beets, and much more. It is such a wonderful feeling to be able to pull a variety of vegetables from your garden and make a meal out of it. I hope that through my blog entries I can share my love of cooking, gardening, and healthy eating.

I hope to apply some of the knowledge shared through the  Growing Chefs! program in my classroom when I am a teacher. I look forward to anything that I can contribute to this wonderful cause. I believe educating children about health and nutrition at an early age sets the stage for a lot of their lifestyle habits later on. As we see fast food and processed junk increasing, it is vital for children to be as informed as possible about healthy choices.

 

Thank you, Isabelle!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

