Skip to content

Volunteer Week – Take a Hike!

April 13, 2016
news

Photo courtesy of Take a Hike

It’s day 3 of National Volunteer Week and today we wanted to feature one of our amazing volunteers who joins us in the office every week to lend a hand. Meet Josue, a high school student who is a part of the Take a Hike program and a regular in our office.

Take a Hike, a charitable program based in Vancouver, BC, empowers at-risk youth with the tools to forge their own path and achieve success in school and in their lives. Take a Hike engages at-risk youth through a unique combination of adventure-based learning, academics, therapy, and community involvement.

As a part of “community involvement” Take a Hike students volunteer with local charities and Growing Chefs! has been fortunate enough to receive help from volunteers like Josue once a week since the fall of 2015. Today Josue took the time to answer a few questions about his experience volunteering with Growing Chefs!

TAH josue

Josue enjoying a ski trip with TAH!

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi, my name is Josue and I’m 16 years old and a student from Take a Hike (TAH). I was born in El Salvador and moved to Guatemala when I was about five years old. After that, thanks to my uncle and aunt, our family of three was able to get supported to come to Canada. I arrived at the age of seven or eight. Since then I’ve enjoyed my time in Canada. It’s very peaceful and it’s a blessing to be here.

Why did you decide to get involved with Growing Chefs!

I really like the fact we are helping in a non-profit organization and that the staff are very charismatic and really enjoy their jobs. Ultimately I believe that their goals are to help the youth of today and for those to come. They are very passionate and not to mention the chefs! They are hands on with everything. Props to everyone who has contributed to this wonderful program. It just gives me another reason to enjoy my volunteering here.

Why do you think a program like Growing Chefs! is important?

Personally I think it’s a very important program for the youth today and those to come in the future because it teaches the young about how important it is to eat vegetables. Also of how to grow your own vegetables and learn about how plants grow and how each vegetable helps your body etc.

What is your favourite vegetable?

I like a variety of vegetables. I definitely think that volunteering at this program has made me think twice about what I’m eating. I am surprised about the things I’ve learned about just volunteering here. It’s definitely been an enjoyable experience.

If you could have dinner with anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why?

Honestly, I’d love to have dinner with Jesus. How amazing that would be. I’d ask him about how it was for him to endure everything he went through and just really to learn from his knowledge and wisdom as much as possible.

What is your earliest food memory?

I don’t quite remember if it was lemon or lime but I do remember everyone watching what my reaction would be to trying it for the first time.

Anything else you’d like to add?

Make sure you think twice before doing anything. Whatever you want to in life, don’t dream, just do it.

TAH kayak

Photo courtesy of Take a Hike

We want to thank Josue for all the time and effort he has put into volunteering with us each week and for taking the time to share his experience with us. We have so enjoyed having all Take a Hike volunteers choosing to give their time to helping us and, in turn, giving them insight into the world of working in nonprofits. We wish them all the best in the program and beyond.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

