Skip to content

Volunteer Week – In the classroom

April 12, 2016

It’s National Volunteer Week and each day this week we are featuring some of our amazing volunteers. Our classroom program is delivered by volunteers from all over the city and from all different backgrounds – the one thing they have in common? A love of healthy food and a passion to share it.

Today we’d like to introduce you to Amanda Slater, one of our volunteers that has been joining us in the classroom for the past four years now! I chatted with Amanda to find out a little more about her and her experience with our program:

 

AS_7976

Photo by Jackie Dives Photography

Why did you decide to get involved with Growing Chefs!? and why do you continue to volunteer?
I started volunteering with Growing Chefs 4 years ago! I’ve always loved volunteering, its a great way to be involved in your community and meet new and like minded people.  Growing Chefs clicked with me.  I’m crazy about food, feeding people, helping people and teaching them about food.  And what a better way to do all that then with kids!   It’s such a great opportunity to connect and inspire young minds.  And not to mention FUN!  

What is your favourite memory from being in the classroom with Growing Chefs!?Hahaha….I’m not sure if I can say it here, but I will.  It was lesson two I think, where the chefs bring mystery vegetables to class in hopes of introducing new and interesting vegetables.  When we were describing the mystery vegetable on kid yelled out ‘big white (think male organ) LOL  When situations like that happen you have to try so hard not burst out laughing, we were all red in the face as we tried to quickly move on.  

What do you do when you aren’t volunteering in the classroom?
I’ve just launched my business REBEL SOUP it’s a passion project turned into reality.  I have a background in nutrition and originally started a soup club with the intention of providing my friends and family with healthful, convenient meals.  But I soon discovered there is an over-abundance of food grown that does not get eaten.  Rebel Soup works with local farmers, like Crisp Organics and Copthorne and distributors like Discovery Organics, to buy the unwanted, unsellable produce and turn it into delicious, healthy, fresh SOUP!  

AS_7927

Photo by Jackie Dives Photography

What is your favourite vegetable?
Broccoli, I add it to everything!  I’ll even put it on my pizza! And it’s so good tossed in olive oil, s & p and roasted 🙂 

If you could have dinner with anyone, living or dead, who would it be and why?
My grandma, I never got to make her dinner.  I would love the be able to make her dinner.

 


What is your earliest food memory?

It’s hard to pick just one.  I grew up in the Okanagan so good, fresh food was always around.  I remember living beside an orchard and picking apples.  Actually, that same memory I fell on some cactus and had cactus stuck in my hand, butt and thigh.  Not so good lol

Why do you think a program like Growing Chefs! is important?

Kids are only exposed to so much.  I remember as young child I ate what my mom bought and that was what I knew. Growing Chefs has the opportunity to introduce kids to new vegetables and gardening.  And hopefully they take what they learn home to their parents and ask for more! As I mentioned earlier, this is my fourth year. I look forward to it every year!  And as long as I live in Vancouver I will continue to volunteer  🙂

Amanda Adams – Growing Chefs! Program Coordinator

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

