Skip to content

A Growing Team at Growing Chefs! – Introducing Christina Boliszczuk!

November 4, 2015

c 2

Hello! I’m Christina Boliszczuk and I am very excited to introduce myself as the newest member of the Growing Chefs! team in the role of the Fund Development & Marketing Assistant.

My life’s path could not have landed me in a more ideal position than the one I’m beginning with Growing Chefs!  I have worked with children in many capacities, including life skills coaching for special needs children and running educational programs and tours at the Vancouver Police Museum. I have always had a love of volunteering with local organizations with running events and fundraising and have served on various boards including a number of years with Port Moody’s Golden Spike Days Festival. This eventually lead me to enrolling at BCIT where I completed both the Fundraising Management and Event Marketing programs.

Most recently I was the Executive Assistant at H.A.V.E. Culinary Training Society, a nonprofit charity and social enterprise in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside that offers culinary training and job placement for adults and youth facing barriers to employment. In my over two years with H.A.V.E., I gained valuable hands-on experience in nonprofit management, grant and proposal writing, and continued to strengthen my administration and organizational skills.

IMG_5531

Save the bees, please!

As a young child I had the benefit of living on my family’s farm in Alberta where I learned about growing and raising our own food. My parents were always involving my sister and I in the farming activities, as well as with the continuous cooking, baking, and canning that took place in our small farmhouse kitchen. This instilled in me an understanding of the importance of where our food comes from and making sure nothing goes to waste. This made me into the resourceful gal I am today and I love sharing my little-waste-as-possible approach to life with others.

c 10

Don’t worry dad, you’ll get a turn to ride, too.

When not at work, I am often hiking, camping, and road-tripping around BC. I enjoy cooking, baking, and supporting local artisans and growers wherever I travel. I am passionate about food, wine, nature, and dancing.  As a member of the Golden Spike Can Can Dancers, I have been kicking up my heels and raising money for charities for over eight years. A few of my other hobbies include horseback riding, costume making, jumping in oceans, lakes, and rivers, and always trying to make people laugh.

cancan

Just a few of my favourite can canners!

I’m never bored for long and if I am, I’ll probably find myself putting on another dinner party for friends, exploring ghost towns, or white water rafting. Life is pretty exciting and I do my best to keep up!

I look forward to the year ahead with Growing Chefs! and helping them continue the growth and success of their amazing programs. Ready, set……go!

c 5

It’s nice up here…with my fanny pack.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 9, 2015 1:29 pm

    Yeah Christina!!!

Leave a Reply

