Skip to content

Introducing Student Teacher Intern – Kailee

June 12, 2015

Hello, My name is Kailee Ferreira and I have been looking forward to this practicum with Growing Chefs!

I am currently finishing my Bachelors of Education at UBC with Kindergarten/Primary being my specialty. Before I came to UBC I worked in a preschool and daycare as an Early Childhood Educator for 5 years where healthy living and eating were strong parts of our programming. We had our very own garden and did many baking and cooking activities with our various programs with children ranging from 2 year olds all the way to our out of school care aged program for Kindergarten- Gr. 7!

I heard about Growing Chefs through a teacher friend who had posted a picture of her classroom and talked about how wonderful it was to have Growing Chefs in her classroom. When I saw Growing Chefs on our possible list of sponsor programs for our practicum-I knew that is it was where I wanted to be!

IMG_7289This first week has fun in getting to know various teams and visiting various schools, but most memorable would be getting to visit my very own Elementary school and being with a teacher that I had in Gr. 2.The students were excited to be cooking in the lesson and were super excited to get to try the wonderful smelling soup and stir fry!

I look forward to the next couple of weeks and getting to spend time and talk with the students about their experiences with Growing Chefs!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

