Skip to content

Introducing Student Teacher: Sara Bucovaz

June 11, 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI am a student teacher from the UBC Teacher Education program and I am working with Growing Chefs! for my Community Field Experience. I am very excited to have the opportunity to work with Growing Chefs!, helping to teach students ways in which we can work towards a more sustainable planet by growing our own food and eating locally grown food.

In the past few years, I became passionate about the outdoors and nature, participating in activities such as hiking, mountain biking, and kayaking. I wanted to learn about protecting this beautiful planet on which we live and ways in which to create a healthier, more sustainable planet. I learned that food plays an important role in living sustainably, as food is often shipped from far off places, needing fossil fuels for its transport across the thousands of miles. Buying local food would reduce the need for the fossil fuels for transport. I wondered what I could do to make a positive change towards a healthier planet. As Growing Chefs! aims to educate people about healthy food systems, this led to my interest in working with the organization. In addition, the community gardens I would pass while cycling or walking in the city got me thinking about growing my own food! As a new gardener, I was also eager to learn as much as I could about how to care for a garden, especially in an urban setting where one might not get a lot of sun! What better way to learn about how to grow your own food than with Growing Chefs!?

Teaching others about sustainability as well as healthy eating is equally important to me. With Growing Chefs!, my hope is to learn all I can about eating healthy, develop a better understanding about eating more sustainably (as well how to grow yummy veggies and cook delicious food!) and ways in which I can share that knowledge with students.

This week, I have had my first experience working with a Growing Chefs! team in a classroom and it was fantastic to see how excited the students were about trying different vegetables. I am looking forward to many more fun experiences with Growing Chefs! teams!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

