Skip to content

Here’s to a Great Experience

May 27, 2014

Over the past three weeks, I was welcomed into the Growing Chefs! family with open arms.  Having the opportunity to get to know so many great volunteers, and most importantly to meet so many vibrant and excited students was one of the best experiences I have had.  Coming from a secondary school background, it was great to get back to the elementary classroom and connect with students on a different level.  Every classroom I went to was unique, inviting, and it was inspiring to see how excited the students got when it was time for their Growing Chefs! lesson.  It solidified for me that teaching is what I want to do.  I have so much respect for this program and its goals.  Healthy eating is so important, but it is equally important to eat local and sustainable food too!  As a future home economics teacher, I hope to bring these values to my own classroom, and even though I was only here for a short time, I learned many valuable things about growing food at home, cooking food, and was introduced to a wide variety of cultural food varieties.  Not only did I learn these things from the volunteers, but the students as well!  I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of knowledge some of the students had about many vegetables I myself had never tried nor heard of.  Hearing about how these foods are used in their cultures and cooked at home was exciting for me.  One class in particular had a female student bring and share with the class home made Kimchi.  She talked about the ingredients and how her family and culture prepares and eats it.  It was great to see students taking leadership roles and teaching their peers, as well as the adults.

I feel lucky to have had the opportunity to be a part of such a great organization and hope to see this program continue to grow.  Thank you to all of the students, teachers, volunteers and program coordinators for a wonderful community field experience.  I am looking forward to joining the educational community soon!

Sincerely,

Brianne Farrall

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

