Skip to content

A Quick Hello from Growing Chefs!’ Events and Communications Intern

September 25, 2013

Hi everyone! My name is Carrie and I just joined Growing Chefs! last week as the new Events and Communications Intern.  Although the position has just begun, it has been exciting to dive right in as our annual gala, From Farms to Forks 4, is coming up in just under 2 weeks!

While searching for internship opportunities, Growing Chefs!’ mission statement and program immediately captured my eye.  I applied as soon as I saw the posting and I couldn’t be more thrilled to now be part of an organization that focuses on supporting locally grown food and instilling healthy eating habits in young children.  As someone who wants to pursue a Master’s degree in nutrition and dietetics, I think it is so incredibly important to get children involved with their food, to show them where it comes from, how to cook, and to get them excited about eating well at such a young age!  I love how Growing Chefs! creates a sense of community between the farmers, chefs, children, volunteers, and Vancouver as a whole.

Over the next few months you can find me posting all over our various social media accounts, on this blog, and at a number of our community outreach events.  I can’t wait to meet everyone involved and to learn and “grow” with Growing Chefs!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

