Skip to content

Summer With Your New Program Assistant!

June 28, 2013

Hello everyone! It’s Michael, the summer program assistant for Growing Chefs! I’m very excited to join the amazing Growing Chefs! team in my first Co-op term.

I’m currently in the middle of my undergraduate degree at the University of British Columbia, majoring in Human Geography with a minor in International Relations. While exploring the city for my urban geography classes, I came across the urban farms which are so important in not just providing a sustainable source of food, but also in creating a strong sense of community. By reconnecting us urban dwellers with our food and with each other, I think that urban agriculture can revolutionize city life for the better. In addition, I love working with kids, just being around them gives me an energy boost, so I am glad to support Growing Chefs.

It’s only been three days since I joined, but they have been very exciting. I got to see young kids learning how to cook the vegetables they grew themselves, watch amazing chefs in action, meet my own Grade 4 teacher after 10 years, and move into our office in the Woodward’s Building with my wonderful colleagues! Challenges have been abundant, but I look forward to them.

Please say hi if you see me representing Growing Chefs! at a community event or in the classroom, and feel free to send me your feedback or suggestions anytime through twitter (@growingchefsBC), Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/GrowingChefs), or via email (michael@growingchefs.ca). Aside from learning about urban agriculture, you might catch me looking at planes in the sky or listening to music, so feel free to chat!

Image

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

