Skip to content

Introducing Student Teacher Intern: Shirley

June 12, 2013

Shirley

What an exciting day to be with Growing Chefs! 

 My name is Shirley Cheung and I am a teacher canidate from UBC. I have recently successfully completed my long practicum in a grade 2/3 classroom, and I’m moving on to my next adventure with Growing Chefs! Today I had the opportunity to visit a grade 2 class in Vancouver, BC and the students learned about harvesting and cooking with vegetables.  In stations, the students worked in small groups to prepare all the different ingredients.  Every student had a chance to tear spinach, break long green beans, chop carrots, peppers, broccoli, and celery.  The students were very amused watching one of our professional chefs chop an onion so swiftly during our safety demonstration.  I look forward in the weeks ahead visiting a variety of classrooms and to provide a helping hand with Growing Chefs!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

