Skip to content

The CSA Chronicles: Beating Beet Boredom

August 23, 2012

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve written an introduction to CSAs as well as a post on how to keep your CSA goodies fresh.  This week features an experiment with a CSA box staple: the beet!

Some items have shown up only once or twice in my CSA box: strawberry season is sadly over, and basil was a nice addition while it lasted. That’s part of what makes a CSA so interesting, and knowing that certain items are in limited supply makes me appreciate them much more when they are in season.

On the other hand, some items show up faithfully week after week: one of these items is beets. It’s nice to have staples, but this week I wanted to get creative. And so the beet cupcake was born! I used a recipe for sweet potato cupcakes (from this book) and substituted cooked, pureed beets for the mashed sweet potato.

Beet cupcake batter, ready for the oven.

The batter was a beautiful, deep purple, and I was excited to see the final result! Surprisingly, the finished cupcakes lost all of their color, and came out of the oven a deep golden colour. I topped the cupcakes with buttercream icing, flavoured with chopped candied orange peel, and coloured with some leftover beet puree.

Finished cupcake, ready for the taste test.

The texture of the cupcakes was light and moist, with a very faint beet flavour. Overall it was a fun experiment and it did beat my beet boredom! Because the beet colour and flavour was a bit lost in the recipe, I don’t know if I would try it again: I like beets to much to hide them!

Do you have any creative uses for fruits or veggies? Share them in the comments!

Until the next box… – Tiffany, Growing Chefs! Intern

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    August 27, 2012 10:30 pm

    Would you be able to post the recipe written out by chance?! I have a lot of beets to do use up and your cupcakes look like they came out wonderfully! I am intrigued!!

Trackbacks

  1. Farm Box- Week of Aug 18 (or 3 salads, a stew, and a steak) | the healthy project

Leave a Reply

