Skip to content

A Brief Introduction

May 18, 2012

20120517-224628.jpg
A cold February evening in Toronto, I met Growing Chefs’ executive director, Helen Stortini. It was one of those serendipitous moments where, out of nowhere, everything seemed to present itself in a gift-wrapped package: Growing Chefs was actively seeking an intern with educational experience, and I was actively seeking an internship to complete my Bachelor of Education at the University of Toronto. I truly couldn’t believe my luck—not only because I had found what I was looking for, but because, when Helen explained what Growing Chefs was all about, I was so impressed and excited, I would have hopped on a plane to Vancouver whether I needed the internship or not. I simply wanted to be a part of it.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing my thoughts and experiences as I visit the classes and get to know the program, the chefs, the teachers, and the very lucky students! As I bounce around Vancouver, I’ll give updates on the students’ gardens, in-class activities, and the wonderful food they’ll be harvesting, preparing, and enjoying!

So, nice to meet you all, and I look forward to being a very tall Growing Chef!

Intern Dave

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

