Skip to content

The Trout Lake crew Part 2

August 19, 2011

The Trout Lake Crew

Another Trout Lake Market team member, Caitlin Read, and her thoughts on local eating…You can visit Caitlin and the other Trout Lake Market team members’ campaign page here.

Why did you decide to take the local challenge?

I decided to take the local food challenge because I’ve been inspired by the abundance and variety of local food at the market all summer. I’m at the farmers market every week, so it just made sense to challenge myself and see what eating very locally would be like.

What’s your favourite local food/recipe?

My favourite local food is definitely stone fruit, particularly cherries and peaches. It is the tastiest fruit I’ve ever tried, and I always try to dry enough to have some on hand throughout the winter.

What will be the hardest part for you to do this challenge?

I think the hardest part for me will be giving up sugar! Therefore I will be stocking up on some sweet local honey! However, with no coffee to put it in I am finding the peaches satisfy my sweet tooth!

Do you have any local food memories from when you were little?

I do have some local food memories from childhood. My parents used to go and pick blueberries every summer, so we would always have lots of frozen ones for snacks. I remember being sent to school with little containers of frozen blueberries for recess!

You can visit Caitlin and the other Trout Lake Market team members’ campaign page here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

